Second Workshop on Modernization of Official Statistics in the State of Qatar

9/25/2018 - 9/26/2018
The provision of data to support the implementation of the goals of both the Sustainable Development Agenda 2030 and the National Development Strategy 2018-2022 requires a transformation in the official statistical system. This transformation, in turn, requires modernization of the statistical process and procedures, enhancement and modernization of institutional structure, effective use of integrated statistical frameworks and innovation in population and housing census processes for the 2020 cycle.
​​​​​​​​​

​​The provision of data to support the implementation of the goals of both the Sustainable Development Agenda 2030 and the National Development Strategy 2018-2022 requires a transformation in the official statistical system. This transformation, in turn, requires modernization of the statistical process and procedures, enhancement and modernization of institutional structure, effective use of integrated statistical frameworks and innovation in population and housing census processes for the 2020 cycle. This also requires the development of effective data dissemination tools using sophisticated electronic applications. The modernization process requires partnerships with ministries and government agencies, business sector, universities, research centers and civil society organizations. This modernization process should take into account the Cape Town Global Action Plan (CTGAP) adopted at the United Nations Data Forum in 2017, which sets out a strategic framework for strengthening national statistical capacity-building to support the implementation of the goals of the Sustainable Development Agenda 2030, while focusing on the use of new data sources such as big data, and at the same time enhancing the traditional sources to provide more and better quality data. The process of modernization also requires integrating the innovation methodology into all areas of formal statistics production processes, while focusing on identifying user needs, including building and providing data and indicator platforms to users in order to monitor the achievement of the goals and targets of the Sustainable Development Agenda 2030 and to use them in the preparation of national reports, such as Qatar’s Voluntary National Review submitted to the High-level Political Forum on Sustainable Development, held in August 2018.


To this end, the Ministry of Development Planning and Statistics (MDPS) has prepared a document entitled "Modernization of Official National Statistics to Support Qatar’s Sustainable Development Goals: A Road Map" as a vision to guide the transformation process and reach consensus on key areas of action to be considered. In this context, MDPS will hold the 2nd Workshop on Modernization of Official Statistics to shed light on the priority aspects that should be given due attention in the modernization process in order to promote official statistics in the State. This activity comes within the framework of the transformation of official statistics project to support the Sustainable Development Agenda which is being implemented by Qatar as a lead country in this field, in cooperation with the United Nations Statistics ​Division .

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Objectives and Expected Outcome

The Second Workshop on Modernization of Official Statistics in Qatar aims at resuming the dialogue that began last year during the 1st workshop on modernization of official statistics held last December to determine the priorities of transformation in the national statistical system in partnership with various stakeholders. The workshop will focus in particular on:

  1. Discussing priority actions and measures with partners who are data producers and users to improve the production of accurate and reliable statistics that support the monitoring of national and international development goals.
  2. Highlighting several priority issues that contribute to a quantum leap in the statistical system, such as active communication which aims to build a distinct reputation for the statistical system as a provider of evidence to decision makers, and to transform data and statistics into specific information used for development planning.
  3. Emphasizing innovation in many statistical areas, such as data collection and compilation, dissemination and provision of statistical products to users, and the use of new data sources.
  4. Highlighting some of the goals of the Sustainable Development Agenda and its data needed and how they are achieved and related to the Sustainable Development Strategy 2018-2022.

The results of this workshop are expected to contribute to a better understanding of the modernization process of the national statistical system and its importance in supporting the implementation of the goals of the Sustainable Development Agenda 2030 and the National Development Strategy 2018-2022. It is further expected to make a quantum leap in the official statistical system in collaboration with partners using innovation in the statistical process, build statistical capacity, increase productivity and provide data to users through user-friendly platforms that enable decision makers to prepare the necessary national reports in a timely manner.

Opening Speech

 
 
His Excellency Dr. Saleh bin Mohammed Al Nabit
Minister of Development Planning and Statistics

Targeted Participants​

The workshop will be attended by international experts from the UK, Netherlands, Italy, Denmark, and the United Nations Statistics Division, ESCWA, SESRIC, as well as officials and experts from the executive ministries, research centers, HBKU’s Qatar Computing Research Institute, NGOs and Microsoft.

Language of the Workshop

Interpretation will be available from Arabic to English and vice versa during the workshop sessions.

​​​​

Photo Album

​To view the photo album, click here

Opening Speech

Day 1: Session One

Day 1: Session Two

Speakers​​

​​​
HE Dr. Saleh bin Mohammed Al-Nabit 
HE Dr. Saleh bin Mohammed Al-Nabit

Minister of Development Planning and Statistics

Mr Sultan Ali Al Kuwari 
Mr Sultan Ali Al Kuwari

Assistant Undersecretary for Statistics Affairs at the Ministry of Development Planning and Statistics
Sheikh Dr Mohammed Bin Hamad Al-Thani 
Sheikh Dr. Mohammed Bin Hamad Al-Thani

Director of Public Health Department, Ministry of Public Health, Qatar
Dr Ahmad Hussein 
Dr. Ahmad Hussein

Statistics Expert, Ministry of Development Planning and Statistics


Dr Albert Hendrik Kroese 
Dr. Albert Hendrik Kroese
Deputy Director General, Central Bureau of Statistics, Netherlands

Dr Ferda Ofli 
Dr. Ferda Ofli
Scientist, Qatar Computing Research Institute (QCRI)

Dr Ismail Lubbad 
Dr. Ismail Lubbad
Statistics and Demography Expert, ESCWA

Dr Tom Smith 
Dr. Tom Smith
Managing Director, Data Science Campus Office for National Statistics (UK)

Ms Haya Abdulrahman Almannai
Ms. Haya Abdulrahman Almannai
Planning specialist in Qatar Social Work



Ms Maria Letizia Rocchi
Ms. Maria Letizia Rocchi
Managing Director, Information Technology, The Italian National Institute of Statistics (ISTAT)

Mr Mohammad Afaneh
Mr. Mohammad Afaneh
Data Artificial Intelligence Solutions Specialist at Microsoft


Ms Nenden Octavarulia Shanty
Ms. Nenden Octavarulia Shanty
Statistical Outreach and Projects Unit Coordinator, SESRIC


Mr Niels Julian Ploug
Mr. Niels Julian Ploug
Economist and the Director of Social Statistics at Statistics Denmark

Dr Roberto Bertollini
Dr. Roberto Bertollini
Advisor to the Minister of Public Health, Qatar

Mr Saoud Al-Shammari
Mr. Saoud Al-Shammari
Head of Household and Developmental Censuses and Surveys Section


Partners



Venue

The workshop will take place at: Ritz Carlton Doha

ورشة العمل الثانية بشأن تحديث الإحصاءات الرسمية في دولة قطر

25/09/2018 - 26/09/2018
يتطلب توفير البيانات اللازمة لدعم تنفيذ أهداف كل من أجندة التنمية المستدامة 2030، واستراتيجية التنمية الوطنية 2018-2022، إحداث تحول في النظام الإحصائي الرسمي. وهذا التحول بدوره يتطلب تحديث العملية والإجراءات الإحصائية، وتعزيز وتحديث البناء المؤسسي، والاستخدام الفعال للأطر الإحصائية المتكاملة، والابتكار في عمليات إجراء تعداد السكان والمساكن لدورة 2020.

يتطلب توفير البيانات اللازمة لدعم تنفيذ أهداف كل من أجندة التنمية المستدامة 2030، واستراتيجية التنمية الوطنية 2018-2022، إحداث تحول في النظام الإحصائي الرسمي. وهذا التحول بدوره يتطلب تحديث العملية والإجراءات الإحصائية، وتعزيز وتحديث البناء المؤسسي، والاستخدام الفعال للأطر الإحصائية المتكاملة، والابتكار في عمليات إجراء تعداد السكان والمساكن لدورة 2020. كما يتطلب ذلك تطوير أدوات فعالة لنشر البيانات باستخدام تطبيقات الكترونية متطورة. وتحتاج عملية التحديث إلى إقامة شراكات مع الوزارات والأجهزة الحكومية، وقطاع الأعمال والجامعات ومراكز البحوث ومنظمات المجتمع المدني. وينبغي لعملية التحديث هذه أن تأخذ بعين الاعتبار خطة عمل كيب تاون التي أقرت في منتدى الأمم المتحدة للبيانات المنعقد عام 2017 (CTGAP)، والتي تحدد إطاراً استراتيجياً لتعزيز بناء القدرات الإحصائية الوطنية، بغية دعم تنفيذ أهداف أجندة التنمية المستدامة 2030، مع التركيز على استخدام مصادر جديدة للبيانات، كالبيانات الضخمة، وتعزيز المصادر التقليدية في الوقت عينه لتوفير بيانات أكثر وبنوعية أفضل. وتتطلب عملية التحديث كذلك إدماج منهجية الابتكار في كافة مجالات عمليات إنتاج الإحصاءات الرسمية، مع التركيز على تحديد احتياجات المستخدمين، ومنها بناء منصات للبيانات والمؤشرات وتوفيرها للمستخدمين، بغية رصد ما يتم إنجازه من أهداف وغايات أجندة التنمية المستدامة 2030، واستخدامها في إعداد التقارير الوطنية كالاستعراض الوطني الطوعي الذي قدمته دولة قطر إلى المنتدى السياسي الرفيع المستوى بشأن التنمية المستدامة الذي انعقد في شهر أغسطس/ آب عام 2018.
وتحقيقاً لهذه الغاية، أعدت وزارة التخطيط التنموي والإحصاء وثيقة بعنوان “تحديث الإحصاءات الرسمية الوطنية لدعم أهداف التنمية المستدامة في دولة قطر: خارطة طريق"، كرؤية من أجل توجيه عملية التحول، والتوصل إلى توافق في الآراء بشأن مجالات العمل الرئيسية التي ينبغي أخذها بالاعتبار. وفي هذا السياق، تعقد ووزارة التخطيط التنموي والإحصاء ورشة العمل الثانية لتحديث النظام الإحصائي، بغية تسليط الضوء على الجوانب ذات الأولوية التي ينبغي أن تنال الاهتمام اللازم في عملية التحديث، بغية النهوض بالإحصاءات الرسمية في الدولة. ويأتي هذا النشاط في إطار مشروع التحول في الإحصاءات الرسمية لدعم أجندة التنمية المستدامة الذي تنفذه دولة قطر كدولة رائدة في هذا المجال بالتعاون مع شعبة الإحصاء بالأمم المتحدة .

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​الأهداف والنتائج المتوقعة:

تهدف ورشة العمل الثانية بشأن تحديث الإحصاءات الرسمية بدولة قطر إلى استئناف الحوار الذي بدأ العام الماضي أثناء انعقاد ورشة العمل الأولى بشأن تحديث الإحصاءات الرسمية المنعقدة في ديسمبر الماضي، لتحديد أولويات التحول في النظام الإحصائي الوطني بالشراكة مع مختلف الجهات المعنية. وستركز ورشة العمل بشكل خاص على ما يلي:

  1. مناقشة الإجراءات والتدابير ذات الأولوية مع الشركاء من منتجي ومستخدمي البيانات لتحسين عملية إنتاج إحصاءات دقيقة وموثوقة لدعم رصد أهداف التنمية الوطنية والدولية.
  2. تسليط الضوء على العديد من القضايا ذات الأولوية التي تسهم في إحداث نقلة نوعية في النظام الإحصائي، كعملية التواصل الفاعلة، الهادفة إلى بناء سمعة متميزة للنظام الإحصائي كمزود للأدلة لصناع القرارات، وتحويل البيانات والإحصاءات إلى معلومات محددة تستخدم في التخطيط للتنمية.
  3. التأكيد على الابتكار في العديد من المجالات الإحصائية، كعمليات جمع البيانات وتركيبها، والمنتجات الإحصائية ونشرها وتوفيرها للمستخدمين، واستخدام مصادر جديدة للبيانات.
  4. تسليط الضوء على بعض أهداف أجندة التنمية المستدامة واحتياجاتها من البيانات وكيفية تحقيقها وعلاقتها باستراتيجية التنمية المستدامة 2018-2022.

ومن المتوقع أن تسهم نتائج ورشة العمل هذه في تعميق فهم عملية تحديث النظام الإحصائي الوطني، وأهميتها في دعم تنفيذ أهداف أجندة التنمية المستدامة 2030، واستراتيجية التنمية الوطنية 2018-2022، وإحداث نقلة كبيرة في نظام الإحصاءات الرسمية بالتعاون مع الشركاء باستخدام الابتكار في العملية الإحصائية، وبناء القدرات الإحصائية، وزيادة الإنتاجية، وتوفير البيانات للمستخدمين عبر منصات سهلة الاستخدام تمكن متخذي القرارات من إعداد التقارير الوطنية اللازمة في الوقت المناسب.

كلمات الافتتاح

​​
   ​​​​ 

سعادة الدكتور/ صالح بن محمد النابت

وزير التخطيط التنموي والإحصاء​



​​​​

المشاركون المستهدفون

سيشارك في ورشة العمل هذه عدد من الخبراء الدوليين من المملكة المتحدة، وهولندا، وإيطاليا، والدنمارك، ومن شعبة الإحصاء بالأمم المتحدة، والاسكوا، ومركز الأبحاث الإحصائية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية والتدريب للدول الإسلامية (SESRIC)، ومسؤولون وخبراء من الوزارات التنفيذية، ومراكز البحوث، ومعهد قطر لبحوث الحوسبة التابع لجامعة حمد بن خليفة، والمنظمات غير الحكومية، وشركة مايكروسوفت.

لغة ورشة العمل  

​​
 ستتوفر الترجمة الفورية من العربية إلى الإنكليزية وبالعكس أثناء انعقاد جلسات ورشة العمل.

 العروض التقديمية

الكلمة الافتتاحية


اليوم الأول: الجلسة الأولى


اليوم الأول: الجلسة الثانية

اليوم الثاني: الجلسة الثالثة






 المتحدثون

 سعادة الوزير الدكتور صالح بن محمد النابت  

سعادة الوزير الدكتور صالح بن محمد النابت

وزير التخطيط التنموي والإحصاء

نبذة شخصية

 سعادة السيد سلطان بن علي الكواري  

سعادة السيد سلطان بن علي الكواري

وكيل الوزارة المساعد لشؤون الاحصاء في وزارة التخطيط التنموي والاحصاء

نبذة شخصية

 الشيخ الدكتور محمد بن حمد آل ثاني  

الشيخ الدكتور محمد بن حمد آل ثاني

مدير إدارة الصحة العامة في وزارة الصحة العامة، دولة قطر

نبذة شخصية

الدكتور أحمد حسين 

الدكتور أحمد حسين

خبير إحصائي في وزارة التخطيط التنموي والإحصاء

نبذة شخصية

 دكتور ألبرت هندريك كرويز  

دكتور ألبرت هندريك كرويز

نائب المدير العام للمكتب المركزي للإحصاء، هولندا

نبذة شخصية

 الدكتور فيردا أوفلي  

الدكتور فيردا أوفلي

عالم في معهد قطر لبحوث الحوسبة (QCRI)

نبذة شخصية

 الدكتور إسماعيل لُبّد  

الدكتور إسماعيل لُبّد

خبير إحصاء وديموغرافيا، شعبة الإحصاء بلجنة الأمم المتحدة للشؤن الاقتصادية والاجتماعية لغربي اسيا (الاسكوا)

نبذة شخصية

 دكتور توم سميث  

دكتور توم سميث

العضو المنتدب، مكتب علوم البيانات للإحصاءات الوطنية، المملكة المتحدة

نبذة شخصية

 السيدة هيا عبد الرحمن المناعي  

السيدة هيا عبد الرحمن المناعي

أخصائي تخطيط ومتابعة في المؤسسة القطرية للعمل الاجتماعي

نبذة شخصية

 السيدة ماريا ليتيزيا روتشي  

السيدة ماريا ليتيزيا روتشي

المدير الإداري لتكنولوجيا المعلومات، المعهد الوطني الإيطالي للإحصاء (ISTAT)

نبذة شخصية

 السيد محمد عفانة  

السيد محمد عفانة

أخصائي حلول البيانات والذكاء الاصطناعي في مايكروسوفت

نبذة شخصية

 السيدة نندن شانتي  

السيدة نندن شانتي

منسقة وحدة التوعية والمشاريع الإحصائية في مركز أنقرة SESRIC

نبذة شخصية

 السيد نيلز بلوغ  

السيد نيلز بلوغ

خبير اقتصادي ومدير الإحصاءات الاجتماعية في هيئة الإحصاء الدنماركية

نبذة شخصية

 الدكتور روبرتو برتوليني  

الدكتور روبرتو برتوليني

مستشار وزير الصحة العامة

نبذة شخصية

 السيد سعود الشمري  

السيد سعود الشمري

مساعد مدير إدارة التعدادات والمسوح والأساليب الإحصائية

نبذة شخصية

 الجهات المشاركة

...

وزارة الصحة العامة

زيارة الموقع

...

United Nations Statistics Division

زيارة الموقع

...

Qatar Computing Research Institute

زيارة الموقع

...

Qatar Social Work Foundation

زيارة الموقع

...

Statistical, Economic, Social Research and Training Centre for Islamic Countries

زيارة الموقع

...

Statistics Netherlands

زيارة الموقع

...

Statistic Denemark

زيارة الموقع

...

المعهد الوطني الايطالي للإحصاء

زيارة الموقع

...

Office for National Statistics, Data Science Campus

زيارة الموقع

 ألبوم الصور

لاستعراض ألبوم الصور، الرجاء اضغط هنا

اتصل بنا

شكرا لاهتمامك في وزارة التخطيط التنموي والإحصاء (MDPS). للمزيد من المعلومات يمكنك الاتصال بنا من خلال

العنوان العام: ​وزارة التخطيط التنموي والاحصاء.
                ص.ب.1855
               الدوحة - قطر

هاتف: (+974) 44958888
فاكس: (+974) 44839999 ​
​​​